Discussion: What the Book Blogging Community Gave Me

I’ve been doing this blogging shindig for five years. FIVE YEARS. There’s been a lot of ups and downs (mostly ups!) and lately I’ve been thinking about what the book blogging community, and book blogging in general, have given me.

Personally, it’s given me freedom. Confidence. A sense of identity. Something to be proud of. Friendship. Happiness (INSANE amounts of happiness). And a deeper appreciation for books that I had previously taken for granted.

Sure we can get caught up in ARC envy and other silly, petty, things, but at the end of the day we’re all here to talk about books and share that love with each other. It’s a very vulnerable experience, putting your thoughts on the Internet. Sometimes that doesn’t go so well (I’m reflecting on my Lady Midnight disaster earlier this year) but most of the time it’s great and we can all flail around and talk about our feels getting shot in the heart.

Followers, likes, page views; it’s all arbitrary. At the end of the day I’d rather have two followers that I genuinely love interacting with than ten thousand who I never get a chance to interact with on a personal level.

What’s so incredible is the fact that we’re living out adventures in our minds everyday and then we get to go into the real world and share that love. Book blogging has brought me so many new perspectives and viewpoints and taken me to corners of the world (metaphorically) that I may have never been otherwise exposed to. That’s a beautiful thing.Β 

It’s been a distraction. It’s been a motivation. Heck, it’s probably going to help me through a lot of my senior thesis which is going to focus on books. How many other people can feel say that they feel that sense of community when they’re talking about things they love (okay probably a lot).